Press release

Four new members join Gruner + Jahr AG's supervisory board

Hamburg, 28 August 2011 – Four new members join Gruner + Jahr AG's supervisory board

+ Jahr AG's supervisory boardHamburg, 29 August 2011
At its last Annual General Meeting, four new members were elected to Gruner + Jahr AG's supervisory board with immediate effect: Dr. Winfried Steeger (61), Hajo Riesenbeck (60), Dr. Volker Breid (49) and Herbert Wetzel (61). Steeger is Managing Director of the Jahr Holding, Riesenbeck is Managing Director of the Riesenbeck - IC GmbH, Breid is Publishing Director of the Women's/Family/People publishing group at G+J AG & Co KG, and Wetzel is a member of the works council at DPV (Deutscher Pressevertrieb).
Dr. Winfried Steeger succeeds Burkhard Schmidt, who stepped down as Managing Director of the Jahr Holding on 15 April 2011. Hajo Riesenbeck follows on from Thomas Holtrop, who was not in a position to accept another term of office due to his diverse range of commitments. Managerial staff at Gruner + Jahr AG & Co KG elected Dr. Volker Breid as their representative on the supervisory board: he is taking the position over from Peter-Matthias Gaede, Editor In Chief of GEO. The company's employees elected Herbert Wetzel to represent them on the supervisory board, where he replaces Lorenz Wolf-Doettinchem. Dorit Harz-Meyn and Bernd Köhler were both re-elected to serve another term on the board.
Hartmut Ostrowski, Chairman of the Supervisory Board at Gruner + Jahr AG, said, "I would like to extend a warm welcome to the new members of G+J's supervisory board, and I look forward to working constructively with them on overseeing the activities of Europe's leading magazine publisher. At the same time, I would also like to thank the former members for their excellent work on G+J's supervisory board. My thanks go to Burkhard Schmidt, who until now was my deputy, long-serving member Thomas Holtrop, Peter-Matthias Gaede and Lorenz Wolf-Doettinchem."
The supervisory board at Gruner + Jahr AG has 12 members and is structured as follows:
Hartmut Ostrowski
Chairman of the Executive Board and Chief Executive Officer, Bertelsmann AG, Gütersloh
Deputy Chairman:
Dr. Winfried Steeger
Managing Director of Jahr Holding GmbH & Co. KG, Hamburg

Dr. Volker Breid
Managing Director, G+J, Hamburg
Axel Ganz
Journalist, Paris
Dr. Günther Grüger
Executive Vice President, Corporate Controlling and Strategy, Bertelsmann AG, Gütersloh
Dorit Harz-Meyn
Project Manager, Real Estate Management, G+J, Hamburg
Angelika Jahr-Stilcken
Journalist, Member of the Supervisory Board, Jahr-Holding, Hamburg
Bernd Köhler
Chairman of the G+J Works Council, Dresden
Johann C. Lindenberg
Businessman, Hamburg
Dr. Thomas Rabe
Chief Financial Officer, Bertelsmann AG, Gütersloh
Hajo Riesenbeck
Managing Director, Riesenbeck - IC GmbH, Düsseldorf
Herbert Wetzel
Chairman of the Works Council, Deutscher Pressevertrieb, Hamburg
Gruner + Jahr AG's shareholders are Bertelsmann AG, Gütersloh (74.9%) and Jahr Holding Gmbh & Co KG, Hamburg (25.1%).
Further enquiries:
Claus-Peter Schrack
Executive Vice President
Corporate Communications
20444 Hamburg, Germany
Phone +49 (0) 40 / 37 03 – 31 13
Fax +49 (0) 40 / 37 03 – 56 17