Press release

Henri Nannen Prize competition 2012 launches with a new category and new jury members

Hamburg, 01 November 2011 – Entries can now be submitted / Awards ceremony on May 11, 2012 in Hamburg

Europe's leading magazine publisher Gruner + Jahr and its magazine stern are awarding the Henri Nannen Prize for the eighth time. Nominations are now being accepted for this prestigious journalism prize for print and online work published in the German media in 2011. Everyone – readers, writers, and photographers – is encouraged to propose prize-worthy works.

The Henri Nannen Prize will be presented on May 11, 2012 at the Deutsches Schauspielhaus theater in Hamburg.

The prize, endowed with total prize money of ;euro;35,000, is awarded in five categories: Reportage, Investigative, Documentary, and Photojournalism and - for the first time this year - the Essay category. This category refers to texts in which the author personally elaborates on a current social phenomenon, incisively and in a graceful style. The call for entries states: "The essay should be concise. It can be built around a problem, a thesis or a controversy, and should be thought-provoking." The addition of the Essay category is partly a reflection of the fact that journalism has changed considerably since the Henri Nannen Prize was initiated in 2005: today's journalism is much more responsive to readers' much greater need for classification and guidance.

The jury may also award a Special Prize, for which outstanding entertaining, humorous reporting can now also be nominated, as the former Humor category has now become the Special Prize.

Nominations for all categories as well as the Special Prize can be submitted online at The participation requirements are also posted here.

The Henri Nannen Prize is also awarded for "outstanding commitment to the independence of the press at home and abroad" as well as "Journalistic Lifetime Achievement." Past winners include former Chancellor Helmut Schmidt, literary critic Marcel Reich-Ranicki, and the journalist Wolf Schneider.
Newcomers to this year's Henri Nannen Prize are Margot Klingsporn (owner of the photo agency Focus), Nils Minkmar (designated head of features at the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), Felix E. Müller (Editor-in-Chief NZZ am Sonntag), James Nachtwey (photographer), Richard David Precht (author) and Anja Reschke (author and presenter of Panorama).

Previous jury members who remain on the panel are: Peter-Matthias Gaede (Editor-in-Chief of GEO), Giovanni di Lorenzo (Editor-in-Chief of Die Zeit), Helmut Markwort (Editor of Focus), Georg Mascolo (Editor-in-Chief of Der Spiegel), Thomas Osterkorn (Editor-in-Chief of stern, who will alternate each year with his colleague Andreas Petzold), Jan-Eric Peters (Editor-in-Chief of Die Welt Group), Ines Pohl (Editor-in-Chief of taz), Ulrich Reitz (Editor-in-Chief of the Westdeutsche Allgemeine Zeitung) and Gerhard Steidl (photo and art book publisher). Anke Degenhard, Elke Heidenreich, Thomas Hoepker, Kurt Kister and Frank Schirrmacher are leaving the panel. The editors-in-chief of stern and the publisher Gruner + Jahr thank the outgoing jurors for their work.

The preliminary judging panel comprised of prominent journalists and authors is augmented this year by Bettina Gaus (taz) and Eva Fischer (Süddeutsche Zeitung Magazin). Florian Illies is leaving the preliminary jury, as is Margot Klingsporn, who has moved to the chief judging panel. The preliminary judging panel pares the abundance of entries down to a selection for the jury to evaluate. Students at Germany's seven foremost journalism schools are also involved in this process. (benet)

All information about the Henri Nannen Prize including participation requirements is available online at

Susanne Hacker
Henri Nannen Prize Communications
Corporate Communications
Gruner + Jahr AG & Co KG

Phone: +49 40-3703-2797